Greater Gaston Amateur Radio Society

1. Secretary
     It shall be the duty of the Secretary to keep the constitution and By-Laws of the club and have the same with him/her at every meeting. He/she shall note all amendments, changes and additions on the constitution and shall permit it to be consulted by members upon request.

2. Memberships

     Full membership is open to licensed Radio Amateurs. Full membership requires dues and includes all society privileges as well as rights to hold an office position and to vote for officers. Spouses of full members are allowed to become members and are not required to become licensed. Non-Licensed spouses do not have the right to vote or hold office.

     Associate membership is open to those actively engaged in a class leading to an Amateur Radio license and all other interested persons. Associate membership requires dues and includes all society privileges except for the right to hold office and vote for officers.

     Honorary membership may be given to an individual or group whose interest supports the society. Honorary membership does not have dues, may not vote or hold office.

     Lifetime membership is open to licensed Radio Amateurs. Lifetime membership requires a onetime due and includes all society privileges as well as rights to hold an office position and to vote for officers.

Applications for membership can be submitted at will to any board member for consideration. All applications must be voted on by society members. A two thirds vote of all members in attendance at time of voting is required to pass. Applicants may not be present at time of voting.

3. Meetings
     Regular meetings shall be held on posted days of each calendar month. Special meetings may be called by the CEO/President upon the written request. Notices shall be sent to members concerning special meetings and the business to be transacted. Only such business as designated shall be transacted. Such notices shall be sent so that they arrive not less than 24 hours before the meeting.

4. Dues, Fees and Assessments
     Annual dues are hereby assessed in accordance with the provisions of Article V of the constitution for the purpose of providing funds for expenses. Membership dues are payable on January 15th of each year or prorated upon submission of new application of membership. Annual dues may not be broken up into quarterly payments. Any member whose dues are not paid by March 1st will be considered inactive and removed from the membership roster. Inactive members have no privileges. Termination of membership either by resignation or expulsion will not constitute a refund of dues paid. Payment of dues may be waived by the CEO for hardship cases. Such waiver shall not be publicized.

5. Elections
     Officer elections will be held annually at the regular November meeting. Officers will assume their elected office January 1st of the following year.

Nomination Committee
     The CEO will appoint a nomination committee six months prior to elections. The committee will be charged with finding qualified candidates to run for office. The committee will present a ballot to the President at the regular meeting one month prior to elections at which time the President will entertain a motion for nominations and to accept the ballot. The final ballot will be published and made available to all club members by email/website. The CEO will dissolve the nomination committee after the annual elections.

     Voting will be done using paper ballots. Immediately after voting the ballots will be counted openly in front of the membership. Any candidate may request a recount of the ballots. In the case of an unopposed slate the CEO may entertain a motion for the Secretary to cast a single ballot.

6. Amateur Radio Emergency service – ARES ®
     ARES® is a program of the American Radio Relay League -- our club will abide by the Rules and Regulations of the ARRL’s Field Organization as they may be amended from time to time, and by ARRL policies, rules, and guidelines contained in ARRL publications.”

Click on the icon below to download the By-Laws